Uncategorized

“Maternity leave is like an extra long holiday – all you do is watch Netflix”

The words said by no mother ever! (Except that one mum that told my brother in law that, that’s what maternity leave entailed) 

A lot of days are hard and lonely whilst others are full of fun and filled with the joy of being with your little ones. 

“I don’t want to be a mum today, I just want to lay in bed and watch Netflix”were the words I messaged to my husband on Friday morning whilst he was at work; I was feeling particularly sorry for myself.

I had been feeling unwell; it was my first time feeling ill (apart from the anaemia and cesarian recovery in the early days) since becoming a mum. 

I just felt like curling into a ball and watching OITNB (as I have fallen behind since having babies) But nope, that was not an option.

Poor Emily is teething at the moment so she has been pretty grumpy and George loves the sound of his own voice at the moment and makes a crazy roaring sound through most the day. I love that crazy sound too but not when my heads thumping. 
 So the morning went something like this…I made myself a coffee but before I could drink it Emily started crying in pain chewing her little fist so I cuddled her and she fell asleep. So off to the microwave I went to warm up my coffee and hoped it would lift my spirits a little (as it was far to early for wine) but when I got back to the sofa, it was Georges turn. To cut the story short my coffee got microwaved 3 times!! 

I had a little cry to myself, and thought about the old days when all I had to think about was myself, those days were so easy, I took sleep for granted. 

I don’t want to go back to those days but it’s ok to reminisce; isn’t it? 

Sleep is something all mums miss but having multiples is hard. When one goes to sleep usually one is still wake; or about to wake. The dreaded line from numerous Health Visitors “don’t forget to sleep when they sleep” has never been an option when it comes to day time napping. Unless I’m at my grans when my lovely Aunts tell me I look terrible and send me to nap! I like those days, except for the looking terrible part 🙂

Just to give you an idea of the level of tiredness I am regularly at, here are a few things I do:

  • When making myself a coffee I have often gone to put the milk on the kettle stand and the kettle in the fridge
  • Thought I’ve lost George or Emily at the bottom of the bed – but actually they’re in their cots
  • Forgotten what I was talking about mid sentence
  • Realised I was feeding the wrong baby and wonder why they’re not interested In the bottle – and they are looking at me like “Mum, I’ve just had my bottle thank you”
  • Just stare into space and then realise someone is trying to talk to me

Who said baby brain doesn’t exist? Trust me it does.
Luckily my Dad came to the rescue in the afternoon and bought me some lunch. George and Emily got to have some much loved Grandad time and I got to have a much needed hot drink and a rest. 



Then something magical happened on the night and George slept from 6pm to 6am it’s the first time he has done this, he must have known I needed the sleep; but he forgot to pass the memo onto Emily! The joys of having multiples – one day they will both sleep through the night together. I hope! 


So what I learnt from being a sick mummy:

  1.  It’s ok to feel sorry for yourself sometimes
  2. Family are the best and will always be there to help, so don’t be scared to ask
  3.  You still can’t spend your days watching Netflix
2 thoughts on ““Maternity leave is like an extra long holiday – all you do is watch Netflix”

  1. Ahhh it really is tough being ill with a little one – even more so with two little ones!! I’ve been feeling rubbish recently and my little guy isn’t sleeping well with teething and being a bit poorly himself, it is so hard to get through the days sometimes! You’re doing a fab job though! Ellen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

